News

Strange Deja Vu

Welcome!

Having not blogged for a long while, not to mention having tired of my old site, I’ve decided to refresh things a little with a new blog.

I want to do things a little differently with this site. I’m aiming for shorter, more frequent posts. I want to write more about my own science and my own field, as well as retaining the topical posts and brief personal entries here and there.

My old blog was a tentative foray into writing and an experiment to see what niche I wanted to carve for myself. Posts were written quickly and often weren’t edited well. I didn’t expect to have much of an audience and was writing more for practice than anything else. In the last few years I’ve had the privilege of working with many excellent and very patient editors, from whom I’ve learned a lot. I’ve been feeling increasingly dissatisfied with the content on my other blog and so in the end I decided it was better to start afresh than continue updating the old one. And so, here we are – Broken Symmetry is born.

To give the place a cosier feel, I’ve moved a few posts across from the old blog and I’ve also added a few new freelance pieces that previously appeared elsewhere but to which I still hold the copyright. All posts are backdated accordingly, and original publications where they initially appeared are credited.

With the introduction out of the way, let me leave you with the same quote with which I started my last blog: one of my favourite quotations by one of my favourite historical figures.

“In science one tries to tell people, in such a way as to be understood by everyone, something that no one ever knew before.”

(attributed to Paul Dirac)

 

